Cakewalk // Documentation // Cakewalk // Undo, redo, and the undo history
Table of Contents Previous Next Index

Arranging and editing ► Undo, redo, and the undo history

Cakewalk provides very powerful Undo and Redo commands that let you move forward or backward through any portion of an editing session. Every project has its own independent undo history. This means you can return to any open project and use the Undo and Redo commands, even if you’ve spent the last hour working on a different project. The undo history of a project is lost when you close the project.
The Edit > History command displays a complete history of the commands and actions you can undo for the current project. The Undo History dialog box looks like this:
Figure 146. The Undo History dialog box.
A. Most recent change B. Click to clear the undo history C. Adjust the number of steps you can undo
The History command is grayed out until you make a change to the current project that can be undone.
You can click the Clear button in the Undo History dialog box to erase the undo history for the current project and free up some memory. If Cakewalk is low on memory, it may offer to erase the History list. To revert to an earlier version of a project, highlight the entry in the History list that represents the point to which you’d like to return, and click OK. Cakewalk performs the necessary undo or redo actions to take you to that point. Once you edit the project (for example, by inserting a note), the History list is truncated at that point. Then, as you do further work, the History list grows again. Any events occurring before the event you highlighted remain on the list.
Copyright © 2020 Cakewalk, Inc. All rights reserved
Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Legal