Cakewalk // Documentation // SONAR X2 // Recording modes
Table of Contents Previous Next Index

RecordingPreparing to record ► Recording modes

Any material you record is stored in a new clip. If you record into several tracks at once, one clip is created in each track. If you record into a track that already contains clips, you can choose one of three recording modes to determine what happens to those clips. When you save your project, you also save whatever recording mode you choose together with that project:
Table 35.  
The new material is merged with any existing material. This means that any existing clips on the track are left unchanged and all newly recorded material is stored in new clips. While recording, you will be able to hear material from existing clips.
The new material replaces (overwrites) any existing material. This means that portions of existing clips may be “wiped clean” to make room for newly recorded material. While recording, you will not be able to hear material from existing clips.
Recording only takes place between the punch-in and punch-out times. You can use Auto Punch in either Sound on Sound or Overwrite mode.
Do one of the following:
list-image
Go to Edit > Preferences > Project - Record, then choose the desired recording mode.

Copyright © 2020 Cakewalk, Inc. All rights reserved
Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Legal