Cakewalk // Documentation // SONAR // Saving your work
Table of Contents Previous Next Index

Recording ► Saving your work

Like most Windows programs, SONAR has a File > Save command and a File > Save As command to save your work. Normally, you save your projects in the standard project file format, with a file extension of .cwp. This file contains all your MIDI data and all your project settings. Any digital audio that is part of your project is stored in a separate file, as described in System configuration. The File > Save Copy As command is similar to the File > Save As command, but lets you save a copy of the current project under a different file name without closing the original project.
Note: Bundle files do not save video data.
If you have made changes to a project and then attempt to close the project, either by closing the Track view or by choosing File > Close, SONAR asks if you want to save the changes you have made. This prevents you from accidentally losing your work. You can tell whether changes have been made to a project by looking for an asterisk (*) after the project name in the SONAR title bar.
1.
Choose File > Save As to display the Save As dialog box.
1.
Go to Edit > Preferences > File - Advanced to access Auto Save settings.
4.
1.
Go to Edit > Preferences > File - Advanced to access File Versioning settings.
2.
Select the Enable Versioning Of Project (.CWP) Files check box.
1.
Choose File > Revert.
3.
Note: If the current project is unsaved at the time you choose File > Revert, you will be prompted with a warning that reverting the project will cause all unsaved changes to be lost. When the reverted project is loaded, the timestamp is stripped off, and the reverted project assumes the project’s original name.
Copyright © 2019 Cakewalk, Inc. All rights reserved
Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Legal